Menu

OUR WORK

We believe that working together will help drive results.

Scotland Beyond Net Zero is a coalition designed to catalyse research collaboration, empower our communities and inform the policymaking and action Scotland needs to reach its ambitious targets.

Get Involved

Our Research themes

Scotland Beyond Net Zero’s partner universities, will work to combine our research strengths to build interdisciplinary collaborations around six core themes: Built Environment, Energy, Finance, Food, Natural Systems, and Transport. Read more about each of these themes and meet the related researchers via the quick links below.

Built Environment

Built Environment

From research in modern architecture, urban planning, and civil engineering to the design of energy-efficient buildings and the use of sustainable construction materials, our researchers are considering how the world that we have forged around us holds the potential to accelerate our race to achieving Net Zero.

Explore

Energy

Energy

Energy is perhaps the most obvious research area that springs to mind when considering our goal of achieving net-zero emissions. From increased understanding of renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, hydro, and geothermal power to improving energy efficiency and storage capabilities, research into energy is fundamental to achieving our goal of reaching net zero emissions.

Explore

Finance

Finance

Interestingly, finance is closely linked to the climate crisis, but academic research can highlight the ways that investment practices can align with sustainability objectives. Financial investments should channel efforts towards low-carbon and climate-resilient projects to help accelerate the transition to a net-zero carbon economy.

Explore

Food

Food

Almost a third of greenhouse gas emissions are associated with our current food systems. To understand the role food production plays in achieving net zero, we’re bringing together interdisciplinary research that looks at the impact and opportunities across multiple stages of the food supply lifecycle.

Explore

Natural Systems

Natural Systems

The true power of nature and its ability to help solve the climate crisis is still widely unknown. Through research into ecosystems, biodiversity, and natural processes, we can unlock the knowledge to develop strategies that harness nature’s potential to sequester carbon and mitigate climate change.

Explore

Transport

Transport

With a wave of new developments and advancements in environmental technologies, it’s an exciting and pivotal moment in the transportation sector. Further research aims to understand how cutting-edge technologies can not only mitigate the transport sector’s traditional environmental impacts, but shape the future of how we get around.

Explore

Energy

Energy plays a pivotal role in our pursuit of reaching net-zero emissions. Shifting from fossil fuels to renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, hydro, and geothermal power is one of the most clear routes, but research into other areas, including energy storage systems and smart grid technologies, are also integral to achieving our goal.

Some of the biggest opportunities for change need to come from the top. Governments can implement policies and regulations that encourage the adoption of clean energy technologies, such as tax incentives for renewable energy projects or carbon pricing mechanisms. Because of this, the latest research into energy can form evidence-based recommendations which inform policy decisions.

Our Research

Our team of researchers share knowledge and ideas across different disciplines, institutions, and industries. Collaborative efforts facilitate the sharing of insights, resources, and expertise, accelerating progress toward common goals.

Academic insights such as these not only drive innovation, but also lay the foundation for a more sustainable and resilient energy infrastructure, one which is crucial to achieving net-zero emissions on a global scale.

Get Involved

Our Researchers

Meet the researchers involved with studies on energy, and its role in combating the climate crisis.

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr. Ahmed Aboushady

Senior Lecturer in Electrical Power Engineering
ahmed.aboushady@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Miguel Anjos

Professor and Chair of Operational Research
miguel.f.anjos@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Sina Askarinejad

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
saskarinejad001@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Olusola Bamisile

Lecturer in Energy and Sustainability
obamisile001@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Patrick Bayer

Professor in Environmental Sustainability & Democracy
patrick.bayer@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Hannah Boast

Chancellor’s Fellow in Environmental Humanities
hannah.boast@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Elizabeth Bomberg

Professor of Politics
e.bomberg@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Christina Boswell

Vice Principal Research and Enterprise
christina.boswell@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Matt Brennan

Professor of Popular Music
Matt.Brennan@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Mike Brown

Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
m.j.z.brown@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Julio Bros-Williamson

Chancellor's Fellow in Net-Zero Buildings
j.broswilliamson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Peter Cameron

Professor of International Energy Law and Policy
p.d.cameron@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kate Carter

Senior Lecturer in Architecture, Technology and Environment
k.carter@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Lynne Craig

Senior Lecturer Design Informatics
lynne.craig@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Ria Dunkley

Senior Lecturer in Geography, Sustainability and Environment
Ria.Dunkley@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr. Mohamed Elgenedy

Lecturer in Power Electronics and Electrical Power Engineering
mohamed.elgenedy@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Gioia Falcone

Rankine Chair of Energy Engineering (Systems Power & Energy)
Gioia.Falcone@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Mohamed Emad Farrag

Professor in Electrical Power Engineering
mohamed.farrag@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. David Flynn

Professor in Cyber Physical Systems
David.Flynn@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Daniel Fosas de Pando

Chancellor's Fellow in Net Zero Buildings
dfosasd@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Daniel Friedrich

Personal Chair of Energy Systems
d.friedrich@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Claire Halpin

Professor, Plant Sciences
c.halpin@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Masoud Hayatdavoodi

Senior Lecturer in Marine Hydrodynamics and Ocean Engineering
mhayatdavoodi@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Stuart Haszeldine

Professor of Carbon Capture and Storage
Stuart.Haszeldine@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Dan van der Horst

Chair in Energy, Environment and Society
dvander@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Louise Horsfall

Professor of Sustainable Biotechnology
Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Yue Hu

Lecturer in Photovoltaic Materials Chemistry
Yue.Hu@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kirsten Jenkins

Senior Lecturer in Energy, Environment and Society
kirsten.jenkins@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Jonathan Knappett

Professor of Civil Engineering
J.A.Knappett@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Theodore Koutmeridis

Senior Lecturer Economics
Theodore.Koutmeridis@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr John MacDonald

Senior Lecturer in Anthropogenic Geomaterials
john.macdonald.3@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Alice Mah

Professor of Urban and Environmental Studies
Alice.Mah@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Sennan David Mattar

Sennan.mattar@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Simon McGrath

Professor of Education
Simon.McGrath@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Petra Meier

Professor of Public Health
petra.meier@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Slobodan B. Mickovski

Professor, Civil Engineering and Environmental Management
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Manosh Paul

Professor of Thermofluids
Manosh.Paul@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Neil Robertson

Chair of Molecular Materials
neil.robertson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Lars Schewe

Reader in Operational Research
lars.schewe@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Stuart Simmons

Business Development Manager, School of GeoSciences
stuart.simmons@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Wenjuan Song

Lecturer in Autonomous Systems & Connectivity
Wenjuan.Song@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Agnessa Spanellis

Senior Lecturer in Systems Thinking
agnessa.spanellis@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

George Tarvit

Director of the Sustainable Scotland Network (SSN)
george.tarvit@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Craig Thomson

Professor in Sustainability and the Built Environment
craig.thomson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Clare Wharmby

Climate Strategies Lead, ECCI
clare.wharmby@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Arno Verhoeven

Senior Lecturer in Design
a.verhoeven@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Faye Wade

Chancellor's Fellow
faye.wade@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Janette Webb

Professor of Sociology of Organisations
jan.webb@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Gillian White

Programme Manager, Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage
gillian.white@sccs.org.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Andrew Ross Wilson

Lecturer in Environmental Management
andrew.wilson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Mark Winskel

Senior Lecturer in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
mark.winskel@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Siming You

Senior Lecturer in Systems, Power and Energy
Siming.You@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Qunshan Zhao

Senior Lecturer in Urban Studies
Qunshan.Zhao@glasgow.ac.uk

Related Articles – Energy

Read the latest articles about energy from our universities.

EXPLORE OTHER RESEARCH THEMES:

Built Environment

Finance

Food

Natural Systems

Transport

We use third-party cookies to personalise content and analyse site traffic.

Learn more