Menu

OUR RESEARCHERS

Our researchers come from a diverse range of academic fields.

Meet the researchers from our universities who are working on cutting edge research focussed on reaching Net Zero and beyond.

If you are an academic at one of our member universities, and would like to be added to this directory, please get in touch.

Contact us

Our Makeup

Scotland’s research intensive universities have come together, working with our local partners and with the Scottish Government to address key challenges associated with the climate emergency, including clean energy, storage, decarbonisation, green transport, community empowerment and climate justice.

  • Full Research Team
  • Energy
  • Food
  • Transport
  • Built Environment
  • Natural Systems
  • Finance
Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr. Ahmed Aboushady

Senior Lecturer in Electrical Power Engineering
ahmed.aboushady@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Peter Alexander

Senior Lecturer in Global Food Security
peter.alexander@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Miguel Anjos

Professor and Chair of Operational Research
miguel.f.anjos@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Sina Askarinejad

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
saskarinejad001@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Liz Baggs

Professor of Food and Environmental Security
liz.baggs@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Nick Bailey

Professor of Urban Studies
nick.bailey@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Olusola Bamisile

Lecturer in Energy and Sustainability
obamisile001@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Patrick Bayer

Professor in Environmental Sustainability & Democracy
patrick.bayer@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Karen Bell

Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Urban Development
Karen.Bell.2@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Ross Beveridge

Senior Lecturer in Urban Studies
ross.beveridge@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Hannah Boast

Chancellor’s Fellow in Environmental Humanities
hannah.boast@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Elizabeth Bomberg

Professor of Politics
e.bomberg@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Christina Boswell

Vice Principal Research and Enterprise
christina.boswell@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Matt Brennan

Professor of Popular Music
Matt.Brennan@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Mike Brown

Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
m.j.z.brown@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Julio Bros-Williamson

Chancellor's Fellow in Net-Zero Buildings
j.broswilliamson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Peter Cameron

Professor of International Energy Law and Policy
p.d.cameron@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kate Carter

Senior Lecturer in Architecture, Technology and Environment
k.carter@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Ian Cochran

Lecturer in Climate Finance & Investment
icochran@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Emilie Combet

Professor of Human Nutrition
Emilie.CombetAspray@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Lynne Craig

Senior Lecturer Design Informatics
lynne.craig@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. John Crawford

Professor in Strategy and Technology Management
john.crawford@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Jamie Cross

Director, Glasgow Changing Futures
jamie.cross@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Ria Dunkley

Senior Lecturer in Geography, Sustainability and Environment
Ria.Dunkley@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Tom Eaves

Lecturer in Environmental Fluid Mechanics
teaves001@dundee.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr. Mohamed Elgenedy

Lecturer in Power Electronics and Electrical Power Engineering
mohamed.elgenedy@gcu.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Rohinton Emmanuel

Director, Research Centre for Built Environment Asset Management (BEAM) at Glasgow Caledonian Universit
Rohinton.Emmanuel@gcu.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Ania Escudero

Research Fellow in Environmental Engineering
Ania.escudero@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Gioia Falcone

Rankine Chair of Energy Engineering (Systems Power & Energy)
Gioia.Falcone@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Mohamed Emad Farrag

Professor in Electrical Power Engineering
mohamed.farrag@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Janet Fisher

Chancellor's Fellow and Senior Lecturer in Geosciences
janet.fisher@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Isabel Fletcher

Senior Research Fellow
I.Fletcher@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. David Flynn

Professor in Cyber Physical Systems
David.Flynn@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Daniel Fosas de Pando

Chancellor's Fellow in Net Zero Buildings
dfosasd@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Daniel Friedrich

Personal Chair of Energy Systems
d.friedrich@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

DrAlejandro Gonzalez-Ollauri

Lecturer in nature-based solutions and hydrogeological modelling
Alejandro.ollauri@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Claire Halpin

Professor, Plant Sciences
c.halpin@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Masoud Hayatdavoodi

Senior Lecturer in Marine Hydrodynamics and Ocean Engineering
mhayatdavoodi@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Stuart Haszeldine

Professor of Carbon Capture and Storage
Stuart.Haszeldine@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Dan van der Horst

Chair in Energy, Environment and Society
dvander@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Andrew Hoolachan

Lecturer in Planning
Andrew.Hoolachan@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Louise Horsfall

Professor of Sustainable Biotechnology
Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Yue Hu

Lecturer in Photovoltaic Materials Chemistry
Yue.Hu@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Camille Huser

Senior Lecturer (Undergraduate Medical School)
Camille.Huser@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Gbenga Ibikunle

Professor and Chair of Finance; Director of the Edinburgh Centre for Financial Innovations
Gbenga.Ibikunle@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Lindsay Jaacks

Personal Chair of Global Health and Nutrition
lindsay.jaacks@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kirsten Jenkins

Senior Lecturer in Energy, Environment and Society
kirsten.jenkins@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Simon Joss

Professor of Urban Futures
Simon.Joss@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Joe Kennedy

Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Global Academy of Agriculture and Food Systems
jkenned5@exseed.ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Jonathan Knappett

Professor of Civil Engineering
J.A.Knappett@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Sarah McKim

Principal Investigator Plant Sciences, School of Life Sciences
smckim@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Theodore Koutmeridis

Senior Lecturer Economics
Theodore.Koutmeridis@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr John MacDonald

Senior Lecturer in Anthropogenic Geomaterials
john.macdonald.3@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Alice Mah

Professor of Urban and Environmental Studies
Alice.Mah@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Sennan David Mattar

Sennan.mattar@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. David McArthur

Reader in Transport Studies
David.Mcarthur@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Simon McGrath

Professor of Education
Simon.McGrath@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Petra Meier

Professor of Public Health
petra.meier@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Slobodan B. Mickovski

Professor, Civil Engineering and Environmental Management
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Dominic Moran

Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics
dominic.moran@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Larissa Naylor

Professor of Geomorphology and Environmental Geography
Larissa.Naylor@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Diego Oyarzún

Reader in Computational Biology
doyarzun@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Ole Pahl

Professor of Environmental Technology
o.pahl@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Tunbosun Oyedokun

Lecturer in Real Estate
Tunbosun.Oyedokun@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Manosh Paul

Professor of Thermofluids
Manosh.Paul@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Chris Pearce

Vice Principal for Research and Knowledge Exchange
chris.pearce@gla.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Sarah Reece

Professor of Evolutionary Parasitology
Sarah.reece@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Neil Robertson

Chair of Molecular Materials
neil.robertson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. John Rowan

Professor of Physical Geography
j.s.rowan@dundee.ac.uk
https://www.dundee.ac.uk/people/john-rowan

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Casey Ryan

Professor of Land System Science
casey.ryan@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Lars Schewe

Reader in Operational Research
lars.schewe@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Stuart Simmons

Business Development Manager, School of GeoSciences
stuart.simmons@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Sean Smith

Director of the Centre for Future Infrastructure
Sean.Smith@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Wenjuan Song

Lecturer in Autonomous Systems & Connectivity
Wenjuan.Song@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Inge Sorensen

Senior Lecturer in Theatre, Film & Television Studies
Inge.Sorensen@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Agnessa Spanellis

Senior Lecturer in Systems Thinking
agnessa.spanellis@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Sam Staddon

Lecturer in Environment and Development
sam.staddon@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Mark Symes

Professor of Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Technology
Mark.Symes@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kate Symons

Senior Research Partnership Manager, SBNZ
K.Symons@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

George Tarvit

Director of the Sustainable Scotland Network (SSN)
george.tarvit@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Craig Thomson

Professor in Sustainability and the Built Environment
craig.thomson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Ian Thomson

Professor of Accounting and Sustainability
Ithomson002@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Jaime Toney

Professor of Environmental and Climate Science
Jaime.Toney@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Kumara Ward

Senior Lecturer in Education Studies

The University of Edinburgh

Clare Wharmby

Climate Strategies Lead, ECCI
clare.wharmby@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Arno Verhoeven

Senior Lecturer in Design
a.verhoeven@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Faye Wade

Chancellor's Fellow
faye.wade@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Catharine Ward Thompson

Professor of Landscape Architecture
c.ward-thompson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Darren Watt

Business Manager, Global Academy of Agriculture and Food Systems
Darren.watt@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Janette Webb

Professor of Sociology of Organisations
jan.webb@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Gillian White

Programme Manager, Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage
gillian.white@sccs.org.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Andrew Ross Wilson

Lecturer in Environmental Management
andrew.wilson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Anna Wilson

Reader in Interdisciplinary Research in Education
Anna.Wilson.2@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Mark Winskel

Senior Lecturer in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
mark.winskel@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Alison Wood

Programme Manager, Climate Springboard
alison.wood1@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Mel Woods

Chair of Creative Intelligence
m.j.woods@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Siming You

Senior Lecturer in Systems, Power and Energy
Siming.You@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Abraham Zhang

Senior Lecturer in Supply Chain Management and Technology
Abraham.Zhang@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Qunshan Zhao

Senior Lecturer in Urban Studies
Qunshan.Zhao@glasgow.ac.uk

We use third-party cookies to personalise content and analyse site traffic.

Learn more