Menu

OUR WORK

We believe that working together will help drive results.

Scotland Beyond Net Zero is a coalition designed to catalyse research collaboration, empower our communities and inform the policymaking and action Scotland needs to reach its ambitious targets.

Get Involved

Our Research themes

Scotland Beyond Net Zero’s partner universities, will work to combine our research strengths to build interdisciplinary collaborations around six core themes: Built Environment, Energy, Finance, Food, Natural Systems, and Transport. Read more about each of these themes and meet the related researchers via the quick links below.

Built Environment

Built Environment

From research in modern architecture, urban planning, and civil engineering to the design of energy-efficient buildings and the use of sustainable construction materials, our researchers are considering how the world that we have forged around us holds the potential to accelerate our race to achieving Net Zero.

Explore

Energy

Energy

Energy is perhaps the most obvious research area that springs to mind when considering our goal of achieving net-zero emissions. From increased understanding of renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, hydro, and geothermal power to improving energy efficiency and storage capabilities, research into energy is fundamental to achieving our goal of reaching net zero emissions.

Explore

Finance

Finance

Interestingly, finance is closely linked to the climate crisis, but academic research can highlight the ways that investment practices can align with sustainability objectives. Financial investments should channel efforts towards low-carbon and climate-resilient projects to help accelerate the transition to a net-zero carbon economy.

Explore

Food

Food

Almost a third of greenhouse gas emissions are associated with our current food systems. To understand the role food production plays in achieving net zero, we’re bringing together interdisciplinary research that looks at the impact and opportunities across multiple stages of the food supply lifecycle.

Explore

Natural Systems

Natural Systems

The true power of nature and its ability to help solve the climate crisis is still widely unknown. Through research into ecosystems, biodiversity, and natural processes, we can unlock the knowledge to develop strategies that harness nature’s potential to sequester carbon and mitigate climate change.

Explore

Transport

Transport

With a wave of new developments and advancements in environmental technologies, it’s an exciting and pivotal moment in the transportation sector. Further research aims to understand how cutting-edge technologies can not only mitigate the transport sector’s traditional environmental impacts, but shape the future of how we get around.

Explore

Natural Systems

Close Work Area

The power of nature

The true power of nature and its ability to help solve the climate crisis is still widely unknown. Through research into ecosystems, biodiversity, and natural processes, we can unlock the knowledge to develop strategies that harness nature’s potential to sequester carbon and mitigate climate change.

Academic research in reforestation, wetland restoration, and sustainable land management can enhance the capacity of natural systems to absorb and store carbon dioxide.

Our research

Understanding the intricate relationships within ecosystems can inform sustainable practices that preserve biodiversity and ecosystem services. Academic insights into the functioning of natural systems provide a foundation for developing nature-based solutions, such as carbon offset projects and sustainable forestry practices, which are integral components of strategies aimed at achieving carbon neutrality.

Through an enhanced understanding of natural systems, academic research can continue to contribute to the development of innovative approaches that play a crucial role in realising net-zero goals.

Get Involved

Our Researchers

Meet the researchers involved with studies on natural systems and nature’s role in combating the climate crisis:

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Liz Baggs

Professor of Food and Environmental Security
liz.baggs@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Karen Bell

Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Urban Development
Karen.Bell.2@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Hannah Boast

Chancellor’s Fellow in Environmental Humanities
hannah.boast@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Lynne Craig

Senior Lecturer Design Informatics
lynne.craig@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. John Crawford

Professor in Strategy and Technology Management
john.crawford@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Ria Dunkley

Senior Lecturer in Geography, Sustainability and Environment
Ria.Dunkley@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Tom Eaves

Lecturer in Environmental Fluid Mechanics
teaves001@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Janet Fisher

Chancellor's Fellow and Senior Lecturer in Geosciences
janet.fisher@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

DrAlejandro Gonzalez-Ollauri

Lecturer in nature-based solutions and hydrogeological modelling
Alejandro.ollauri@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Claire Halpin

Professor, Plant Sciences
c.halpin@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Stuart Haszeldine

Professor of Carbon Capture and Storage
Stuart.Haszeldine@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Louise Horsfall

Professor of Sustainable Biotechnology
Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Camille Huser

Senior Lecturer (Undergraduate Medical School)
Camille.Huser@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Sarah McKim

Principal Investigator Plant Sciences, School of Life Sciences
smckim@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr John MacDonald

Senior Lecturer in Anthropogenic Geomaterials
john.macdonald.3@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Alice Mah

Professor of Urban and Environmental Studies
Alice.Mah@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Slobodan B. Mickovski

Professor, Civil Engineering and Environmental Management
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Dominic Moran

Professor of Agricultural and Resource Economics
dominic.moran@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Larissa Naylor

Professor of Geomorphology and Environmental Geography
Larissa.Naylor@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Diego Oyarzún

Reader in Computational Biology
doyarzun@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Ole Pahl

Professor of Environmental Technology
o.pahl@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Sarah Reece

Professor of Evolutionary Parasitology
Sarah.reece@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. John Rowan

Professor of Physical Geography
j.s.rowan@dundee.ac.uk
https://www.dundee.ac.uk/people/john-rowan

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Casey Ryan

Professor of Land System Science
casey.ryan@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Stuart Simmons

Business Development Manager, School of GeoSciences
stuart.simmons@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Inge Sorensen

Senior Lecturer in Theatre, Film & Television Studies
Inge.Sorensen@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Agnessa Spanellis

Senior Lecturer in Systems Thinking
agnessa.spanellis@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Sam Staddon

Lecturer in Environment and Development
sam.staddon@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Mark Symes

Professor of Electrochemistry and Electrochemical Technology
Mark.Symes@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kate Symons

Senior Research Partnership Manager, SBNZ
K.Symons@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

George Tarvit

Director of the Sustainable Scotland Network (SSN)
george.tarvit@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Jaime Toney

Professor of Environmental and Climate Science
Jaime.Toney@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Kumara Ward

Senior Lecturer in Education Studies

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Arno Verhoeven

Senior Lecturer in Design
a.verhoeven@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Catharine Ward Thompson

Professor of Landscape Architecture
c.ward-thompson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Gillian White

Programme Manager, Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage
gillian.white@sccs.org.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Anna Wilson

Reader in Interdisciplinary Research in Education
Anna.Wilson.2@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Mel Woods

Chair of Creative Intelligence
m.j.woods@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Siming You

Senior Lecturer in Systems, Power and Energy
Siming.You@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Abraham Zhang

Senior Lecturer in Supply Chain Management and Technology
Abraham.Zhang@glasgow.ac.uk

Related Articles – Natural Systems

Read the latest articles about natural systems from our universities.

EXPLORE OTHER RESEARCH THEMES:

Built Environment

Energy

Finance

Food

Transport

We use third-party cookies to personalise content and analyse site traffic.

Learn more