Menu

OUR WORK

We believe that working together will help drive results.

Scotland Beyond Net Zero is a coalition designed to catalyse research collaboration, empower our communities and inform the policymaking and action Scotland needs to reach its ambitious targets.

Get Involved

Our Research themes

Scotland Beyond Net Zero’s partner universities, will work to combine our research strengths to build interdisciplinary collaborations around six core themes: Built Environment, Energy, Finance, Food, Natural Systems, and Transport. Read more about each of these themes and meet the related researchers via the quick links below.

Built Environment

Built Environment

From research in modern architecture, urban planning, and civil engineering to the design of energy-efficient buildings and the use of sustainable construction materials, our researchers are considering how the world that we have forged around us holds the potential to accelerate our race to achieving Net Zero.

Explore

Energy

Energy

Energy is perhaps the most obvious research area that springs to mind when considering our goal of achieving net-zero emissions. From increased understanding of renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, hydro, and geothermal power to improving energy efficiency and storage capabilities, research into energy is fundamental to achieving our goal of reaching net zero emissions.

Explore

Finance

Finance

Interestingly, finance is closely linked to the climate crisis, but academic research can highlight the ways that investment practices can align with sustainability objectives. Financial investments should channel efforts towards low-carbon and climate-resilient projects to help accelerate the transition to a net-zero carbon economy.

Explore

Food

Food

Almost a third of greenhouse gas emissions are associated with our current food systems. To understand the role food production plays in achieving net zero, we’re bringing together interdisciplinary research that looks at the impact and opportunities across multiple stages of the food supply lifecycle.

Explore

Natural Systems

Natural Systems

The true power of nature and its ability to help solve the climate crisis is still widely unknown. Through research into ecosystems, biodiversity, and natural processes, we can unlock the knowledge to develop strategies that harness nature’s potential to sequester carbon and mitigate climate change.

Explore

Transport

Transport

With a wave of new developments and advancements in environmental technologies, it’s an exciting and pivotal moment in the transportation sector. Further research aims to understand how cutting-edge technologies can not only mitigate the transport sector’s traditional environmental impacts, but shape the future of how we get around.

Explore

Built Environment

Close Work Area

Built Environment

There are countless ways to utilise the built environment as a cornerstone for achieving net-zero emissions, so naturally it involves a holistic and multifaceted approach. From prioritising energy-efficient building designs, to using sustainable materials and smart technologies, urban planners now have a suite of modern solutions that can help to drastically reduce energy consumption.

Embracing circular construction practices to minimise waste, opting for passive design principles, and retrofitting existing structures with energy-saving upgrades can also assist with curbing energy demands.

Our Research

As with all research areas, collaboration across disciplines is crucial to achieving adoption and progress here. As well as communicating with each other, urban planners, architects, and policymakers need to engage communities to ensure that sustainable cities are eager and able to prioritise low-carbon infrastructure and integrated systems.

Our research into the built environment not only looks at the latest ways that sustainable design and technological innovation can influence net zero, but how community involvement and ways to foster education can be effective in paving an achievable route for a more sustainable and environmentally conscious future within our urban landscapes.

Get Involved

Our Researchers

Meet the researchers involved with studies on the built environment, and its role in combating the climate crisis.

The University of Dundee

Dr. Sina Askarinejad

Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
saskarinejad001@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Nick Bailey

Professor of Urban Studies
nick.bailey@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Ross Beveridge

Senior Lecturer in Urban Studies
ross.beveridge@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Luke Bisby

Chair of Fire and Structures
luke.bisby@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Hannah Boast

Chancellor’s Fellow in Environmental Humanities
hannah.boast@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Frédéric Bosché

Reader in Construction Informatics
f.bosche@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Matt Brennan

Professor of Popular Music
Matt.Brennan@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Mike Brown

Professor of Geotechnical Engineering
m.j.z.brown@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Julio Bros-Williamson

Chancellor's Fellow in Net-Zero Buildings
j.broswilliamson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Zakary Campbell-Lochrie

Lecturer in Fire Science
Z.Campbell.Lochrie@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Kate Carter

Senior Lecturer in Architecture, Technology and Environment
k.carter@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Ian Cochran

Lecturer in Climate Finance & Investment
icochran@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Lynne Craig

Senior Lecturer Design Informatics
lynne.craig@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Rohinton Emmanuel

Director, Research Centre for Built Environment Asset Management (BEAM) at Glasgow Caledonian Universit
Rohinton.Emmanuel@gcu.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Ania Escudero

Research Fellow in Environmental Engineering
Ania.escudero@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. David Flynn

Professor in Cyber Physical Systems
David.Flynn@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Daniel Fosas de Pando

Chancellor's Fellow in Net Zero Buildings
dfosasd@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Daniel Friedrich

Personal Chair of Energy Systems
d.friedrich@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

DrAlejandro Gonzalez-Ollauri

Lecturer in nature-based solutions and hydrogeological modelling
Alejandro.ollauri@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Dr. Masoud Hayatdavoodi

Senior Lecturer in Marine Hydrodynamics and Ocean Engineering
mhayatdavoodi@dundee.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr. Karin Helwig

Senior Lecturer
Karin.Helwig@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Dan van der Horst

Chair in Energy, Environment and Society
dvander@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Andrew Hoolachan

Lecturer in Planning
Andrew.Hoolachan@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Professor Tahseen Jafry

Director of the Mary Robinson Centre for Climate Justice
t.jafry@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Simon Joss

Professor of Urban Futures
Simon.Joss@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Desen Kirli

Elizabeth Georgeson Fellow in Data and Digitalisation for Net Zero
desen.kirli@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Aristides Kiprakis

Chair of Agile Energy Systems
kiprakis@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Jonathan Knappett

Professor of Civil Engineering
J.A.Knappett@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Wei Li

Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering
wei.li@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr John MacDonald

Senior Lecturer in Anthropogenic Geomaterials
john.macdonald.3@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Alice Mah

Professor of Urban and Environmental Studies
Alice.Mah@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Sennan David Mattar

Sennan.mattar@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Jason Matthiopoulos

Jason.matthiopoulos@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. David McArthur

Reader in Transport Studies
David.Mcarthur@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Encarni Medina-Lopez

Senior Lecturer in Ocean Observation
emedina@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Slobodan B. Mickovski

Professor, Civil Engineering and Environmental Management
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Larissa Naylor

Professor of Geomorphology and Environmental Geography
Larissa.Naylor@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Ole Pahl

Professor of Environmental Technology
o.pahl@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Tunbosun Oyedokun

Lecturer in Real Estate
Tunbosun.Oyedokun@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Manosh Paul

Professor of Thermofluids
Manosh.Paul@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Chris Pearce

Vice Principal for Research and Knowledge Exchange
chris.pearce@gla.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Eugenia Rodrigues

Lecturer in Science, Technology and Innovation Studies
eugenia.rodrigues@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Sean Smith

Director of the Centre for Future Infrastructure
Sean.Smith@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Pavlos Tafidis

Lecturer in Transport Systems Engineering
ptafidis@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

George Tarvit

Director of the Sustainable Scotland Network (SSN)
george.tarvit@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Craig Thomson

Professor in Sustainability and the Built Environment
craig.thomson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Arno Verhoeven

Senior Lecturer in Design
a.verhoeven@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Clare Wharmby

Climate Strategies Lead, ECCI
clare.wharmby@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr. Faye Wade

Chancellor's Fellow
faye.wade@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Catharine Ward Thompson

Professor of Landscape Architecture
c.ward-thompson@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Janette Webb

Professor of Sociology of Organisations
jan.webb@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Andrew Ross Wilson

Lecturer in Environmental Management
andrew.wilson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Alison Wood

Programme Manager, Climate Springboard
alison.wood1@ed.ac.uk

The University of Dundee

Prof. Mel Woods

Chair of Creative Intelligence
m.j.woods@dundee.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Siming You

Senior Lecturer in Systems, Power and Energy
Siming.You@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Abraham Zhang

Senior Lecturer in Supply Chain Management and Technology
Abraham.Zhang@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Qunshan Zhao

Senior Lecturer in Urban Studies
Qunshan.Zhao@glasgow.ac.uk

Related Articles – Built Environment

Read the latest articles about the built environment from our universities.

EXPLORE OTHER RESEARCH THEMES:

Energy

Finance

Food

Natural Systems

Transport

We use third-party cookies to personalise content and analyse site traffic.

Learn more