Menu

OUR WORK

We believe that working together will help drive results.

Scotland Beyond Net Zero is a coalition designed to catalyse research collaboration, empower our communities and inform the policymaking and action Scotland needs to reach its ambitious targets.

Get Involved

Our Research themes

Scotland Beyond Net Zero’s partner universities, will work to combine our research strengths to build interdisciplinary collaborations around six core themes: Built Environment, Energy, Finance, Food, Natural Systems, and Transport. Read more about each of these themes and meet the related researchers via the quick links below.

Built Environment

Built Environment

From research in modern architecture, urban planning, and civil engineering to the design of energy-efficient buildings and the use of sustainable construction materials, our researchers are considering how the world that we have forged around us holds the potential to accelerate our race to achieving Net Zero.

Explore

Energy

Energy

Energy is perhaps the most obvious research area that springs to mind when considering our goal of achieving net-zero emissions. From increased understanding of renewable energy sources such as solar, wind, hydro, and geothermal power to improving energy efficiency and storage capabilities, research into energy is fundamental to achieving our goal of reaching net zero emissions.

Explore

Finance

Finance

Interestingly, finance is closely linked to the climate crisis, but academic research can highlight the ways that investment practices can align with sustainability objectives. Financial investments should channel efforts towards low-carbon and climate-resilient projects to help accelerate the transition to a net-zero carbon economy.

Explore

Food

Food

Almost a third of greenhouse gas emissions are associated with our current food systems. To understand the role food production plays in achieving net zero, we’re bringing together interdisciplinary research that looks at the impact and opportunities across multiple stages of the food supply lifecycle.

Explore

Natural Systems

Natural Systems

The true power of nature and its ability to help solve the climate crisis is still widely unknown. Through research into ecosystems, biodiversity, and natural processes, we can unlock the knowledge to develop strategies that harness nature’s potential to sequester carbon and mitigate climate change.

Explore

Transport

Transport

With a wave of new developments and advancements in environmental technologies, it’s an exciting and pivotal moment in the transportation sector. Further research aims to understand how cutting-edge technologies can not only mitigate the transport sector’s traditional environmental impacts, but shape the future of how we get around.

Explore

Transport

Close Work Area

Transport

In recent years, there has been a pivotal shift towards more sustainable and eco-friendly solutions in transport. Research in transportation is at the forefront of developing sustainable and low-carbon solutions that can revolutionise the way both people and goods move. Innovations in electric and hydrogen-powered vehicles, advancements in public transportation systems, and research on alternative fuels are all significantly reducing the carbon footprint of the entire transportation sector.

Additionally, studies on smart urban planning and the integration of emerging technologies, such as autonomous vehicles and intelligent traffic management systems, can optimise transportation efficiency and decrease emissions.

Our research

New academic research in this area informs policy decisions, shapes industry practices, and fosters the development of eco-friendly transportation infrastructure, all of which are vital components in the collective effort to attain a net-zero carbon future.

From electric vehicles to infrastructure, and public transport innovations to alternative fuels, our team of researchers are understanding how cutting-edge technologies can not only mitigate the transport sector’s traditional environmental impacts, but shape the future of how we get around.

Get Involved

Our Researchers

Meet the researchers involved with studies on transportation, and its role in achieving net zero.

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Miguel Anjos

Professor and Chair of Operational Research
miguel.f.anjos@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Elizabeth Bomberg

Professor of Politics
e.bomberg@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Matt Brennan

Professor of Popular Music
Matt.Brennan@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr. Mohamed Elgenedy

Lecturer in Power Electronics and Electrical Power Engineering
mohamed.elgenedy@gcu.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Mohamed Emad Farrag

Professor in Electrical Power Engineering
mohamed.farrag@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. David Flynn

Professor in Cyber Physical Systems
David.Flynn@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Stuart Haszeldine

Professor of Carbon Capture and Storage
Stuart.Haszeldine@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Prof. Louise Horsfall

Professor of Sustainable Biotechnology
Louise.Horsfall@ed.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. David McArthur

Reader in Transport Studies
David.Mcarthur@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Simon McGrath

Professor of Education
Simon.McGrath@glasgow.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Slobodan B. Mickovski

Professor, Civil Engineering and Environmental Management
Slobodan.Mickovski@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Prof. Manosh Paul

Professor of Thermofluids
Manosh.Paul@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Wenjuan Song

Lecturer in Autonomous Systems & Connectivity
Wenjuan.Song@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Agnessa Spanellis

Senior Lecturer in Systems Thinking
agnessa.spanellis@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

George Tarvit

Director of the Sustainable Scotland Network (SSN)
george.tarvit@ed.ac.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Prof. Craig Thomson

Professor in Sustainability and the Built Environment
craig.thomson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Clare Wharmby

Climate Strategies Lead, ECCI
clare.wharmby@ed.ac.uk

The University of Edinburgh

Dr Gillian White

Programme Manager, Scottish Carbon Capture and Storage
gillian.white@sccs.org.uk

Glasgow Caledonian University

Dr Andrew Ross Wilson

Lecturer in Environmental Management
andrew.wilson@gcu.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr. Abraham Zhang

Senior Lecturer in Supply Chain Management and Technology
Abraham.Zhang@glasgow.ac.uk

The University of Glasgow

Dr Qunshan Zhao

Senior Lecturer in Urban Studies
Qunshan.Zhao@glasgow.ac.uk

EXPLORE OTHER RESEARCH THEMES:

Built Environment

Energy

Finance

Food

Natural Systems

We use third-party cookies to personalise content and analyse site traffic.

Learn more